Pandit: Nilesh Parashar


Kalasarpa yoga is considered to be one of the not so good Nabhasa Yogas.

This is sometimes associated with physical deformity or moral weakness, misfortunes, deceit and treason. The positive qualities of this Yoga are that, the native can acquire a capacity to do arduous work, with exceptional success in the fields of studies, administrations, philosophy etc. Moreover one can fulfill his desires of his life, either in the materialistic concept or in the spiritual scope.

“Kala” means time,“Sarpa” means Serpent and “Yoga” means combination. So Kala Sarpa Yoga means that the soul is caught by the Serpent of time within the axis of Karma. It reflects unusual and unexpected life-situations experienced by a person, according to his Karma of the previous birth. It is formed when all 7 planets considered in Vedic Astrology (Sun, Moon, Mars, Venus, Jupiter, Saturn, Mercury) are placed between Rahu (Moon's North Node) and Ketu (Moon's South Node) in the natal chart. It is defined by the following sloka.

Agre rahur atho kethu, Sarve Madhya gata graham| Yogam Kalasarpakhyam,Nripa Sasya Vinasanam||

According to the above sloka “ Rahu must be ahead of the Ascendant and Ketu behind it; all the planets should occupy between them; no planet should be in conjunction with Rahu or Ketu . This is a definition for Kalasarpa Yoga. The Kalasarpa Yoga will be mostly operative between the ages of 39 and 45 years.

Different types of Kalasarpa yogas Since Rahu and Ketu are placed at 180° to one another, they can form twelve different types of Kalasarpa yogas :

Anantha Kalasarpa Yoga
Kulika Kalasarpa Yoga
Vasuki Kalasarpa Yoga
Shankuphala Kalasarpa Yoga
Padma Kalasarpa Yoga
Mahapadma Kalasarpa Yoga
Takshaka Kalasarpa Yoga
Karkotaka Kalasarpa Yoga
Shanchachud Kalasarpa Yoga
Ghataka Kalasarpa Yoga
Vishdhana Kalasarpa Yoga
Sesh-naga Kalasarpa Yoga

For enquires regarding Dosh Nivaran Pujas: 8319690116